We all loved those tasty gummy bears and other types of gummy candy as children. The lovely color, sweet taste and gummy texture creates a unique experience which every child loves. But, have you ever wondered if these treats are healthy and safe to consume?
Vegetarians know that most sugary delights contain gelatin, a food derived from collagen which is obtained from animal byproducts (usually skin and bones). Everything we think we know about food production is wrong, and candies are never produced like in the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. This is what Alina Kneepkens, a freelance director and journalist is trying to explain in her short film “Over eten – De weg van een snoepje”.
This film shows the gummy bear production process in reverse. It’s pretty short and worth checking out, and won’t take more than a couple of minutes of your time. Be wary, though, as it’s not for the faint of heart. Kneepkens has also made short films on rabbit with plums and black pudding, so they are only for those with a tough stomach.
Now for some good news – vegan gelatin substances exist and are made from algae! They are used for various cakes and sweet treats and taste just as good as real gelatin. If you need more inspiration to start using these substances, watch Kneepkens’ video and we’re sure you’ll make the switch.